I Love Gin Review – The Gin & Tonic Subscription Box

Over the last few years it’s been impossible to ignore the rise of gin. I used to think it was a bit of a weird drink, but now it’s usually beverage of choice. JHogg and I love collecting different gins to try and have amassed quite a collection these days. The problem we have though, is we want to try MORE. Sure we have some favourites that we fall back on, but once we’ve opened a new bottle we want to move on to the next one even though we’ve only had 1 or 2 drinks from it.

With the age subscription boxes still going strong it was no surprise that the people at I Love Gin saw a gap in the market and created a subscription box for gin and tonic. Every box is delivered to your door and contains the items you need to make 4 gin and tonics, an information booklet with some information about the gins and tips on which garnishes to use, and an exclusive members discount to use towards buying a full size bottle of your favourite gin.

I think the concept is great, as it will allow JHogg and I to try new gins without having to “commit” to a full size bottle. We are guilty of sticking to our old faithfuls when it comes to tonics, so I really like that the box gives you different tonic to try out too.

I Love Gin Review - The Gin & Tonic Subscription Box | December gin box www.oddhogg.com

Our December box came with a marmalade gin and a spiced gin, with enough for 2 drinks in each bottle. For us, that makes the box perfect for sharing as we can both have a drink from each gin. We waited until after the festive period was over (except for the snack – I polished that off almost immediately), then picked a night when the boys were quietly tucked up in bed to sneak off and pour ourselves the gins.

I Love Gin Review - The Gin & Tonic Subscription Box | Aber Falls Marmalade Gin www.oddhogg.com

My favourite was definitely the marmalade gin, whereas JHogg preferred the spiced. Unfortunately neither of us were particularly excited by the tonic that was provide but thats ok – part of the fun is finding out which products you like and which ones you don’t.

I Love Gin Review - The Gin & Tonic Subscription Box | Peaky Blinders Gin www.oddhogg.com

I’m really looking forward to seeing what our January box has in store. If you want to get your own you can either sign up for a monthly subscription, or purchase one of the many gifts on the website. From cocktail kits to mugs and chocolate bars, there are loads of gin based gifts to choose from. There’s even a gin & tonic lip balm!

Giveaway

I Love Gin have got one extra box to giveaway to one of my readers! If you want to be in with a chance of winning then please enter via rafflecopter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

The closing date is 11:59 pm on Friday 1st March 2019
The prize is a single monthly box from I Love Gin, no cash alternative
The competition is open to UK residents aged 18 and over
Entrants must log in and follow the directions given via the Rafflecopter widget
All entries will be verified
The winners will be chosen at random using Rafflecopter
The winners will be notified within 5 days of the closing date. The winner must respond within 30 days of receiving the email to claim their prize
The competition is not affiliated with Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube or Instagram

 

I was given a 3 month subscription to I Love Gin in exchange for this honest review. All words and opinions are my own.

Please note this post may include some affiliate links. This has no effect on you - to find out more please check out the disclosure

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Follow:
Share:

85 Comments

  1. Rena Plumridge
    1st February 2019 / 12:48 pm

    My favourite gin is Gordons

  2. Amy Simpson
    1st February 2019 / 12:59 pm

    Mines Bulldog Gin xx

  3. Peter Watson
    1st February 2019 / 1:23 pm

    Rhubarb gin is my favourite.

  4. Annabel Greaves
    1st February 2019 / 1:37 pm

    I love pink gin

  5. Natalie burgess
    1st February 2019 / 1:43 pm

    Gordons xx

  6. iain maciver
    1st February 2019 / 1:49 pm

    our locally made harris gin

    • OddHogg
      Author
      1st February 2019 / 3:36 pm

      I do love Harris gin!

  7. Catherine Bullas
    1st February 2019 / 2:08 pm

    parma violet gin.

  8. Susan B
    1st February 2019 / 2:13 pm

    I like the flavoured gins best such as grapefruit or rhubarb.

  9. clair downham
    1st February 2019 / 2:26 pm

    pink gin

  10. Kim Murray
    1st February 2019 / 3:00 pm

    Love Tanqueray x

  11. Julia Nicholls
    1st February 2019 / 3:03 pm

    My favourite gin is Cotswold gin, closely followed by Garden Swift.

  12. T Brailey
    1st February 2019 / 3:11 pm

    I love Gordons Gin

  13. Dion petrie
    1st February 2019 / 4:17 pm

    The orangery Gin is my favourite

  14. 1st February 2019 / 5:00 pm

    Rhubard and ginger for me!

  15. Emilia Nastaly-Howard
    1st February 2019 / 5:22 pm

    Gordons

  16. Helen B
    1st February 2019 / 5:33 pm

    I do love a really good homemade sloe gin 🙂

  17. Clifford Sherwood
    1st February 2019 / 5:42 pm

    Bombay Saphire

  18. twirlywhirly
    1st February 2019 / 5:43 pm

    Gordons..but loving pink gin at the mo 🙂

  19. Cherry Lloyd
    1st February 2019 / 6:00 pm

    My favourite gin is Isle of Wight gin at the moment.

  20. YOLANDA DAVIS
    1st February 2019 / 6:31 pm

    I’ve not had a chance to try all the new flavoured gin’s that have become so popular. I’m sure I would love them. until then I would say Sloe gin is my favourite.

  21. Solange
    1st February 2019 / 6:49 pm

    I love Bombay Sapphire.

  22. nicola dean
    1st February 2019 / 6:55 pm

    Pink gin is my favourite.

  23. Sheena Batey
    1st February 2019 / 7:34 pm

    Whittaker’s pink pepper gin for me

  24. Helen Thurston
    1st February 2019 / 8:04 pm

    I haven’t tried many – my favourite is currently Pink Gin.

  25. Ash R
    1st February 2019 / 8:27 pm

    Gordons Gin x

  26. ADEINNE TONNER
    1st February 2019 / 8:30 pm

    My favourite gin has to be Gordons pink gin i love it!!

  27. justine meyer
    1st February 2019 / 8:43 pm

    Gordons gin for me

  28. Jade Hewitt
    1st February 2019 / 9:01 pm

    My favourite gin has to be any kind of raspberry gin 🙂

  29. Leanne Hansell
    1st February 2019 / 9:43 pm

    My favourite gin is Gordon’s.

  30. Theresa Wakeley
    1st February 2019 / 10:19 pm

    Bombay Sapphire is my all time fave

  31. Cyra Bellamy
    1st February 2019 / 10:28 pm

    Definitely Parma Violet Gin 🙂

  32. Sarah Williams
    1st February 2019 / 11:52 pm

    My Favourite Gin is Forest Gin

  33. Hayley Colburn
    2nd February 2019 / 12:15 am

    I really like Bombay Sapphire Gin

  34. Angie McDonald
    2nd February 2019 / 1:20 am

    I love classic Bombay Sapphire Gin

  35. Anna Guest
    2nd February 2019 / 2:16 am

    My favourite is Roku gin

  36. Kevin Honey
    2nd February 2019 / 3:11 am

    Bombay Sapphire

  37. Amy Bondoc
    2nd February 2019 / 7:06 am

    asda do a gingerbread gin it looks like bubble bath its so sparkly its very sweet love it

  38. Katie
    2nd February 2019 / 11:24 am

    rhubarb and ginger

  39. sue cornish
    2nd February 2019 / 11:26 am

    i need to try more flavours love trying them

  40. Bryony Wilson
    2nd February 2019 / 1:34 pm

    Silent Pool

  41. Janette
    2nd February 2019 / 3:01 pm

    Pink gin is my favourite

  42. Danielle Pooley
    2nd February 2019 / 5:14 pm

    Rhubarb gin

  43. Michelle Gracey
    2nd February 2019 / 6:31 pm

    Rhubarb gin

  44. Katerina Economides
    2nd February 2019 / 6:53 pm

    Raspberry for me.

  45. Nikki Stewart
    2nd February 2019 / 9:36 pm

    I love Edinburgh Gin, especially the Raspberry one x

  46. Eilean Fraoch
    2nd February 2019 / 10:43 pm

    Rock Rose

  47. Katie Skeoch
    3rd February 2019 / 8:34 am

    Violet gin for me from M&S

  48. Ruth Harwood
    3rd February 2019 / 10:42 am

    Love pink gin xx

  49. Megan Kinsey
    3rd February 2019 / 4:53 pm

    I love Pigskin Gin, I really like the lemony taste. I definitely recommend it if you haven’t already tried it!

  50. Charlotte
    3rd February 2019 / 4:55 pm

    i had bathtub the other day as a treat

  51. Georgina Prince
    3rd February 2019 / 8:27 pm

    I have only ever tried Gordons gin, would love to try something new x

  52. ElizM
    3rd February 2019 / 10:51 pm

    Bombay Sapphire – although I’m currently drinking a nice cranberry infused pink gin which was a fab present from some friends

  53. Kristyn Harris
    4th February 2019 / 12:07 pm

    I enjoy all gin, but my favourite gin at the moment is cucumber gin

  54. Rich Tyler
    4th February 2019 / 2:13 pm

    Bombay Sapphire

  55. Margaret Gallagher
    4th February 2019 / 5:08 pm

    Gordons pink GIN – devine taste

  56. Tina H
    4th February 2019 / 5:41 pm

    I love lemon Malfy gin and local Bristol 6’o clock gin.

  57. 4th February 2019 / 10:39 pm

    My favourite gin is the Norfolk Boadicea Gin

  58. sarah grainger
    5th February 2019 / 2:55 am

    I recently tried EXE gin and it was lovely. Subtle citrus tones and very smooth to drink

  59. Claire Nutman
    5th February 2019 / 12:01 pm

    Bombay!

  60. Lorna Ledger
    5th February 2019 / 6:12 pm

    I love Lidls range, they have some lovely flavours! bit moreish though ‘;)

  61. Amelia Oliver
    5th February 2019 / 9:46 pm

    Pink gin or sloe gin

  62. melanie betteridge
    6th February 2019 / 2:22 am

    Parma Violet

  63. Carole Nott
    7th February 2019 / 12:20 pm

    I love a Gordons gin served with tonic and ice

  64. Amanda tanner
    8th February 2019 / 12:52 am

    Strawberry gin

  65. Helen Stratton
    8th February 2019 / 12:19 pm

    Martin Miller is my favourite, I love it!

  66. Emma Ferguson
    9th February 2019 / 9:06 am

    Seville gin is my favourite

  67. cheryl hadfield
    9th February 2019 / 11:52 pm

    I love palma violet gin

  68. Kim Neville
    10th February 2019 / 10:47 am

    Gordons gin

  69. Geri Gregg
    10th February 2019 / 11:32 am

    Gordon’s gin with lemonade

  70. Ursula Hunt
    10th February 2019 / 11:51 am

    I like Bombay Sapphire

  71. Robert Price
    10th February 2019 / 4:13 pm

    Bombay for me

  72. Carolyn E
    11th February 2019 / 12:43 pm

    I am still trying new gin all the time…… One of my faves is the Copper ahead Gin from Adnams.

  73. Emily Smith
    11th February 2019 / 1:06 pm

    Love a pink gin

  74. natalie bates
    11th February 2019 / 11:05 pm

    Parma Violet Gin

  75. claire griffiths
    12th February 2019 / 4:45 pm

    pink gin

  76. Louise Comb
    14th February 2019 / 2:55 pm

    Hard choice, but I think my fave is probably rhubarb gin XXX

  77. Nadia Josephine
    14th February 2019 / 4:56 pm

    I love berry gin with some really nice tonic and some raspberries. I also really like rhubarb gin with elderflower

  78. Sharon Freemantle
    14th February 2019 / 6:28 pm

    I love my homemade sloe gin

  79. Sadie Coffin
    15th February 2019 / 9:49 am

    Pink Gordons gin

  80. Becky Duffy
    17th February 2019 / 5:09 pm

    Raspberry Gin is lovely but all Gin is good in my eyes

  81. Katie Harmer
    18th February 2019 / 12:07 am

    Bombay Sapphire

  82. laura pyper
    19th February 2019 / 8:18 am

    Edinburgh Gin

  83. pete c
    20th February 2019 / 6:55 pm

    not too bothered about brand but a nice rhubarb gin is lovely

  84. JULIE WARD
    20th February 2019 / 10:04 pm

    I don’t like gin, daughter in law does and she’s not fussy which one

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *