Kidloland Review + Giveaway

Whether you agree with it or not, technology is here to stay. In nurseries across the country iPad’s or other tablets are being, and the trend seems to continue into through into school. Most households have a tablet of some form, or at least a smart phone.

Personally, I don’t see their use as any worse than sitting in front of a television. Everything in moderation! However finding a suitable app for them to use that doesn’t require constant supervision can be tough. When Kidloland got in touch to ask us to review their app we were  intrigued and excited to see what is on offer.

Kidloland Review | There are so many childrens app options out there it can be hard to know which are worth the money. We have tried out Kidloland and given you our verdict - plus we have 3 to give away! https://oddhogg.com

What Is It?

Kidloland is an app aimed at 0-5 year olds. It has nursery rhymes, games, stories and activities to keep little ones entertained for literally hours on end. There are no ads, and new content is being added all the time. There is a free trial, and thereafter there are subscription opens ranging from £4.99 for a month to £39.99 for 12 months.

Initial Thoughts

Although the app is meant to be suitable for all under 5’s, I really didn’t see the need to introduce Piglet to a tablet at this stage. However, I have a seemingly never ending supply of nieces and nephews to try this sort of thing out on! I pinned down two of them for an afternoon to see what they thought of it.

While I was getting it set up I was at first a bit overwhelmed by the number of options and activities available. You could spend literally hours going through them all! There are nursery rhymes, stories, games, and learning activities such as phonics, tracing letters or games with numbers or shapes.

I was relieved to see them option to create your own playlists. That means your child can easily locate the items they like best without you having to intervene to find them.

Getting Stuck In

I’m not sure how we managed, but we persuaded my 4 year old nephew to let his 2 year old little brother have a turn first – it turns out miracles do happen!

Kidloland Review | Nursery Rhymes https://oddhogg.com

The littlest was very taken with the nursery rhymes. They are interactive, so as the song plays you can press various points on the screen and see what happens. For a newly turned 2 year old this was just the right level for him to play and not need adult input.

That said – it didn’t stop his brother “helping him out” a little too much! What else are brothers for though?

Kidloland Review | Helping

The biggest didn’t hesitate as soon as it was his turn. He got stuck in straight away playing the games. There are loads that he can play alone which is perfect for when you want some quiet time! What we really liked though were the learning activities. The letter tracing in particular is great to work on with him and help him.

Kidloland Review | Letter Games https://oddhogg.com

As a big numbers fan, the dot-to-dot was a big hit. He wasn’t at all fussed that it was Christmas themed either, although that did wind me up a little!

The Verdict

This face says it all really! This was the reaction when he had to wait for his brother to have a turn.

Kidloland Review | Sulking https://oddhogg.com

I think that as far as a paid app goes it is excellent. It doesn’t matter what your child is in to – there is something for everyone in Kidloland.

When Piglet is older I wouldn’t hesitate to get him access for a month while we’re on a holiday. It would save us a lot of agro on planes or car journeys I’m sure!

If you want to download the app you can do so here:

Giveaway

If you fancy getting your hands on a 3 month subscription to Kidloland then you’re in the right place! I have three to give away.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Terms and Conditions

The closing date is 11:59 pm on Sunday 12th March 2017
The prize is a 3 month subscription to Kidloland, no cash alternative
The competition is open to UK and Northern Ireland only
Entrants must log in and follow the directions given via the Rafflecopter widget
All entries will be verified
The winners will be chosen at random using Rafflecopter
The winners will be notified within 5 days of the closing date. The winner must respond within 30 days of receiving the email to claim their prize
The competition is not affiliated with Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram

 

This post is linked to #bestandworst, #fortheloveofBLOG and #KCACOLS

Please note this post may include some affiliate links. This has no effect on you - to find out more please check out the disclosure

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Follow:
Share:

32 Comments

  1. 22nd February 2017 / 5:02 pm

    Your pictures are fab. We’ve had this app for some time now and my little one loves it. Glad yours did too! #bestandworst

  2. Sarah Mackay
    22nd February 2017 / 7:53 pm

    I would let them use it after they have done their homework

  3. Jo Carroll
    22nd February 2017 / 10:35 pm

    It looks to have lots of different things to do and I’m sure my little fella would love to have a go at them all…seems really good on the education front too.

  4. 24th February 2017 / 11:35 pm

    Ahh looks cute, lovely pictures 🙂 Thanks for linking up to this weeks #bestandworst

  5. 25th February 2017 / 6:04 pm

    I would let the grandchildren use it when I mind them during the week

  6. 27th February 2017 / 10:55 pm

    The kids look like they had fun with the app. Something for a treat perhaps but not everyday. #kcacols

    • OddHogg
      Author
      28th February 2017 / 1:09 pm

      yes – this iPad actually stays at Granny’s house for use there, but not at home

  7. 2nd March 2017 / 3:38 pm

    I also agree with the everything in moderation. Technology definitely isn’t going anywhere! This app sounds great and like you said would be wonderful for a holiday with all the travelling! xo

  8. 2nd March 2017 / 5:16 pm

    My daughter is too old for this but I think my friend’s little girl would love it! Katie 🙂 x

  9. 2nd March 2017 / 5:28 pm

    My kids would love this! They are both a little obsessed with games on the iPad! x

  10. Lyndsay-Rose
    2nd March 2017 / 5:30 pm

    This app sounds so good.

  11. 2nd March 2017 / 8:58 pm

    I do love a good app, especially one where their is loads to do , as i find my daughter acn become bored easily after one game, but if their are a tonne inside it will keeep her enterained for a longer period. x

  12. 3rd March 2017 / 3:09 am

    I’ve seen so much about this app, it looks so good. I’m not a huge fan of kids on tablets but for educational games then hell yes!

  13. Nadine
    3rd March 2017 / 6:14 am

    This looks awesome! I always long for something like this to entertain the toddler during tired times. I find for him though screens just make things that much worse. But for a kiddo that doesn’t struggle with that or parents that are good at setting time limits on the screen this is an awesome option! #KCACOLS

  14. 3rd March 2017 / 9:47 am

    This is a great idea. It’s good to know that your little ones are safe on a tablet etc. and not having to watch them constantly means that you can grab a bit of “me time” as they play. The fact they have educational games too is a plus
    Debbie

    • OddHogg
      Author
      3rd March 2017 / 10:45 am

      I was surprised at how well the bigger one took to the educational games. He now asks to play dot to dot or the letter tracing game quite regularly

  15. 3rd March 2017 / 10:15 am

    I completely agree everything in moderation. This looks fab, the variety makes it perfect for taking on long trips. I must look into it for our next plane trip home it sounds like it would be perfect for my nearly 2 year old.

    • OddHogg
      Author
      3rd March 2017 / 10:45 am

      The littler nephew is 2 and he just loves playing the popping games at the moment. He thinks they’re hilarious and his laugh at them is so infectious

  16. 3rd March 2017 / 10:32 am

    I’m glad you are enjoying the app. I agree with you about keeping technology to a minimum for now while the boys are little. There will be plenty of time for it when they’re a bit older. Will definitely look into get a subscription for this service then.

    • OddHogg
      Author
      3rd March 2017 / 10:47 am

      They’ll be running rings around us with ipads and phones and laptops before we know it!

  17. 3rd March 2017 / 11:32 am

    This looks great for kiddies – mine are obsessed with their tablets and I have to restrict their usage otherwise they would probably spend all day on them!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday x

  18. 3rd March 2017 / 7:46 pm

    This is a great app for smaller children. You’re right this type of technology is here to stay and I think that balancing time on techi stuff with getting out and about is fine and pretty normal now.

    Mainy

    #KCACOLS

  19. 3rd March 2017 / 8:51 pm

    Happy faces all round (apart from when he was waiting for a turn!) It looks like a good all round app for kids that will keep them amused and teach them a thing or two. I have three kids, one of which would love this. I’ve entered the giveaway.

    • OddHogg
      Author
      4th March 2017 / 5:23 pm

      Good luck!

  20. 3rd March 2017 / 10:05 pm

    Oohh this looks good will have to have a look 🙂 thank you for linking up with #KCACOLS

  21. 3rd March 2017 / 10:14 pm

    I agree, technology is the way forward and parents who do not allow their children any screen time will just hinder them in comparison to their peers. There definitely needs to be balance- this looks great!

  22. 5th March 2017 / 1:43 pm

    I never thought I would let my girls have tablets so young but they do – they actually learn so much from apps likes these. This sounds like it would be perfect for my Harri who is almost 4. She loves doing puzzles and games on her app and it is perfect for those long car journeys!

  23. Ema J Lowe
    9th March 2017 / 5:32 pm

    I would let my youngest daughter have this on her ipad

  24. Richard Tyler
    10th March 2017 / 4:32 pm

    As a distraction on long car journeys

  25. Diana
    10th March 2017 / 9:54 pm

    I would let my daughter use it a bit after her lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *